Commentary on the European Monetary Union

The Commentary on the European Monetary Union, edited by Helmut Siekmann in 2013, fills a gap between the existing works covering the Treaty on the European Union and the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union in general and the detailed monographs on specific aspects of the Monetary Union. The 1500-page Commentary ranks among the major IMFS projects, carrying on over several years until its publication in April 2013. The project was supported by the Foundation of Monetary and Financial Stability (Stiftung Geld und Währung).

Leading experts from academia and central banking have joined to expound all relevant provisions of primary law, including protocols, and of secondary law. In particular, all rules of the Statute of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and the European Central Bank are comprehensively treated. The commentaries take into consideration all amendments and supplements by the Lisbon Treaty.

A particular emphasis has been laid on court rulings concerning the European Monetary Union as well as the problems that resulted from the financial crisis and the budgetary problems of single member states of the European Union.

It includes contributions by Florian Becker, Christof Freimuth, Charlotte Gaitanides, Christoph Herrmann, Heinz Herrmann, Stefan Kadelbach, Jörn Axel Keller, Julian Langner, Katharina Muscheler-Lorange, Christoph Ohler, Marion Schmidt-Wenzel, Helmut Siekmann, Jochen Sprung, Christine Steven and Christian Waldhoff.

Editorial flyer (PDF)
Review of the Commentary
(Photo: Mohr Siebeck)